• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 guineagirl

guineagirl

• Members 3
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 584 posts

Posted 12 April 2011 - 09:25 PM

I am contemplating a career change and would be interested in hearing the forum's views...perhaps now is not the best time to be leaving a steady job, but I've been working in advertising for over 11 years and rather fed up with the commute into central London, the hours and the stress.

My dream is to have a job a bit closer to home, and one which gives me more of the life in my work-life balance!

However it feels a bit like I'm going at it the wrong way round...most people have an idea of their dream job and pursue that as a goal, whereas I don't really know what I want to do, just that I want to do it nearer home, for less hours and am prepared to earn less as a result.

I think I could turn my hand to most administrative work, project management, any office-based work really and don't mind considering part time or freelance work that would give me a breathing space to pursue potential new career routes through volunteering or other routes I haven't had a chance to explore yet.

What I lack, that I'm painfully aware of, is that entrepreneurial spark that leads people to set up their own businesses - I would definitely describe myself as a worker bee who works well with others & collaboratively, can't imagine I'd ever have the drive to set up on my own (or any unique skill that would be my selling point, like photography or design or cookery).

As there are so many freelancers who are active on VN thought it might be a good place to ask for some advice, or even better any ideas of people in CP who might be interested in finding out whether I can help them!

#2 Elmo

Elmo

All bad precedents began as justifiable measures

• Sponsors
  • 3,226 posts

Posted 12 April 2011 - 09:44 PM

I'd be interested in reading replies to this... I think there are a lot of VNers in the same boat at the moment.