WordPress web creator - good or bad?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 twinkle

twinkle

• Sponsors
  • 1,420 posts

Posted 18 June 2012 - 08:18 AM

Has anyone used/created their websites using WordPress?
Just wanting to get an idea from users / businesses if its worthwhile learning it or not.
I'm branching out into the world of websites and need to get to grips with the techie side of things or just to leave it to the developers.
x
For all your graphic design needs please visit
www.jane-shearman-design.com

#2 gekko

gekko

Sponsor

• Sponsors
  • 4,570 posts

Posted 18 June 2012 - 09:04 AM

I'm a product development manager, not a dev so I'm sure someone with more in-depth coding experience will be along to advise shortly. I have used WordPress though and it's great if you need to build websites but don't have much technical know-how. There are zillions of templates out there (free and paid) and you can tweak them using the WordPress CMS or by editing the code if you are comfortable with that. There are also numerous plugins that work with WordPress, including social media software. If you need to create complex sites, you'll no doubt find it limiting but it's a good place to start if you don't have much experience of web development.
Mel, Forum Moderator

#3 twinkle

twinkle

• Sponsors
  • 1,420 posts

Posted 18 June 2012 - 09:17 AM

Thanks Gekko
You're right - I'm no coding guru and I want to start creating basic visual websites - I have the graphics know-how so thats no problem making them look gorgeous so I will have play and report back.
My other half is into coding etc (not for her main profession) so she can always give a hand if I need to step up a little in what the website does.
Hopefully it can't be too hard... or can it!? ;)

#4 charlie

charlie

• Members 3
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,623 posts

Posted 18 June 2012 - 12:10 PM

Hi Twinkle,