Photo

Idiot's guide to finding a Conveyancing Solicitor!

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
8 replies to this topic

#1 Vixylyx

Vixylyx

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 6 posts

Posted 19 October 2012 - 11:20 AM

Hello!

After 7 years renting in our delightful Crystal Palace we are finally taking the plunge (and have saved the requisite, exorbitant amount of money...) to buy our first home in Penge or Sydenham. We're complete novices to the whole house-buying malarky and I wondered whether any of you kindly Virtual Norwood folk can recommend a conveyancing solicitor in the local area?

I've emailed Amplett Lissimore (just awaiting a reply) and have used an online conveyancing quote thingy (home.co.uk) to get a rough idea of figures, just wondered if any of you have used someone recently that you could recommend. All help and information gratefully received.

Many thanks,

Vic

#2 RetiredMember1

RetiredMember1

• Members 3
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,066 posts

Posted 19 October 2012 - 11:35 AM

I can heartily recommend Shelley Rounding, whom I endorsed just yesterday on Linked In! http://uk.linkedin.c...ding/25/521/16a You don't need a local conveyancer, incidentally (and she's not, being based in Bracknell) - I never met her but she conducted two pieces of legal work for me (one conveyancing and the other a complicated land dispute) over phone and email with the utmost efficiency, expertise and good humour (which you'll need, buying a property!). Her costs are lower, being out of London, too. I found her former firm, Harrison Li, on VN, where it was glowingly recommended - http://www.virtualno...ing-solicitor/. Good luck and do mention my name if you use her (I can give you my surname on PM).

Edited by GillW, 19 October 2012 - 11:36 AM.

#3 Elmo

Elmo

All bad precedents began as justifiable measures

• Sponsors
  • 3,226 posts

Posted 19 October 2012 - 12:35 PM