• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 fluffyloveheart

fluffyloveheart

• Members 3
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 243 posts

Posted 01 April 2005 - 09:24 PM

I live in a maisonette which has a garden with a crab apple tree in it. My new neighbours (top flat, next door, no garden)have attatched a washing line from their kitchen door to my tree; casting a huge shadow across my garden. They refuse to take it down.
To be honest the tree is a pain anyway, what are the rules on me chopping it down?
Fluffyloveheart

#2 HeadGardener

HeadGardener

• Sponsors
  • 677 posts

Posted 01 April 2005 - 09:58 PM

Incredible!

I think the law on felling trees is that if it's your tree, you're free to chop it down except where the tree has a Tree Preservation Order on it and/or you're in a conservation area. I'm no lawyer, but this gives more information: http://www.bbc.co.uk...aw/index2.shtml.

If you do chop down the tree, you may need to consider whether to leave the roots where they are or have them dug out too. This is all to do with shrinkage/subsidence as the roots wither away - a question more for a surveyor or tree surgeon than an amateur gardener. Of course, if I'm to live up to my name, I should suggest that you plant another tree to replace it - maybe on the other side of the garden where it can't be hijacked for laundry support duties!

#3 andyb

andyb

• Members 3
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,245 posts

Posted 04 April 2005 - 08:40 AM

Yes, I second what HG said. You need to check that there isn't a preservation order and my GF always tells her clients to consult with a tree surgeon. She, herself, would rarely tackle a tree as it can create horrible problems if done wrong.

#4 Mango

Mango

Forum Fruit

• Sponsors
  • 772 posts

Posted 04 April 2005 - 08:53 AM

I'd chop the washing line down if I was you - it's on your property - I'd say you have every right. You could pretend it was an 'accident'!
M A N G O

#5 peanut

peanut

• Members 3
  • PipPipPipPipPip