10 replies to this topic

#1 tealight rookie

tealight rookie

• Members 2
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 91 posts

Posted 13 November 2006 - 08:27 PM

Hello lovely Norwoodians,

I'm thinking about doing some volunteer work this Christmas, possibly with Crisis Open Christmas, but given that I've never done anything like this before I'm a little unsure. So... I wondered if any of the lovely people here had any such experience, horror stories (unlikely) or warming tales?

Cheers!

#2 Retired_Member_2

Retired_Member_2

• Members 3
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 585 posts

Posted 13 November 2006 - 08:58 PM

I was interested in doing this too. I'd be quite interested in hearing any advice on what it's like

#3 James

James

• Sponsors
  • 4,833 posts

Posted 14 November 2006 - 01:24 PM

I would recommend getting in touch with the local Rotary Club. Meetings are held at Lorenzo's restaurant every week and guests are always welcome - just pop in to the restaurant to enquire. There are all sorts of opportunities available throughout the year and they also organise a huge Christmas Party for the OAPs in the Phoenix Centre. There is another Rotary club in Sydenham if anyone lives there.

European.vote - EU Referendum

#4 iclipper

iclipper

Former WN'er....

• Members 3
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 617 posts

Posted 15 November 2006 - 11:08 AM

I volunteer for the food chain (www.foodchain.org.uk) the nearest location is Tooting and there is also a kitchen in Bermondsey- If you like cooking and can only really volunteer at the weekend its perfect. If you are not a cook we also always need drivers and navigators to help deliver the meals.

If anyone wants any more information please feel free to PM me

#5 whydelilah

whydelilah

• Members 1
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 99 posts

Posted 20 March 2007 - 04:20 PM

Hi...