• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Axean

Axean

• Members 3
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 895 posts

Posted 18 December 2006 - 02:02 PM

An original discussion started to go off topic so I've posted my reply here.

Axean
The 200 acres of Crystal Palace Park straddles Crystal Palace, Anerley and Penge. Crystal Palace or Upper Norwood is SE19 but Anerley and Penge is SE20.

I work as a Land Surveyor, and postcodes have been a pet-hate since student days. Some people hate poor grammer, for me its postcodes. The worst thing I could ever have done was move to an area divided by postal codes. When I hear postcodes used to describe an area, I always bite.

I can give an expert answer. Postcodes have not, do not and never will officially define an area, they are system created by one company to sort its product. The boundaries of postcodes are not properly geographically referenced. If the perceived boundary of a postcode coincides with an official boundary it is just a a fluke. Crystal Palace or Upper Norwood cannot be in SE19. Anerley and Penge cannot be in SE20. The Park provides a good example of this. It is one location but different letterboxes have different postcodes.

The 200 hundred acres of Crystal Palace Park do not straddle any official boundaries. It does not straddle Crystal Palace, Anerley and Penge. Crystal Palace Park is contained entirely within the Crystal Palace Ward, which in turn is in the London Borough of Bromley. Until recently Crystal Palace did not to officially exist as an area, but it does now. Anerley no longer officially exists. But the area described by the Crystal Palace Ward is not the Crystal Palace Area we all think of. I think most of us would say the Crystal Palace Area is the the park and land around it with a larger area around the Parade and Anerley Hill/Road.