9 replies to this topic

#1 peggysue

peggysue

• Members 3
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 167 posts

Posted 22 April 2009 - 12:57 PM

Hi all
digging up my garden this weekend to make way for new lawn.

I am thinking that I will probably buy some 'ready made lawn' to lay, rather than sow it from seed, as I would like to have a lawn for the summer rather than wait until the end of summer to sow it, which I understand is the best time.

Does anyone have experience of either of these methods and does anyone know any local or online suppliers of lawn that they would recommend?

Thanks

#2 gekko

gekko

Sponsor

• Sponsors
  • 4,570 posts

Posted 22 April 2009 - 02:55 PM

I've no experience to impart I'm afraid but Secret Garden had ready-made lawn in when I was there a couple of weeks ago.
Mel, Forum Moderator

#3 moc

moc

Myofascial Bodywork

• Sponsors
  • 763 posts

Posted 22 April 2009 - 03:03 PM

I have bought 'ready-made' turf before, in my old house, and laying it is incredibly easy. The 'difficulty' is in preparing the area that needs to be turfed, but then you would need to do this anyway if you were going to sew from seed - have fun digging!

ps here's a quick guide to laying turf.
Integrated Myofascial Release Therapy, Sports/Remedial and Deep Tissue Massage and the Full Body MOT service in Crystal Palace and Streatham: www.myofascial-bodywork.com / @SW16Massage

#4 Anthony

Anthony

• Members 3
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 238 posts

Posted 23 April 2009 - 06:15 AM

Good morning PeggySue

I had a new lawn sown three summers ago and the guy that did it for me thought that seeding
was a better option, please don't ask me why because I do not know. I do know that my
neighbour just up the road did use turf for his garden and has to renew it pretty often.
The Gardner prepared the old lawn (lawn ha) by just dumping a layer of humus onto it, levelled
it of etc. and scattered the seeds onto it in the usual way, this was in the middle of summer