• Please log in to reply
157 replies to this topic

#1 Nanazola

Nanazola

• Members 3
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,460 posts

Posted 09 December 2009 - 02:56 PM

I'm posting on behalf of Zubin Varla, who's setting up an SATB (sopranos, altos, tenors, basses) choir in Crystal Palace. You don't have to be able to read music. Here's the info:

My name is Zubin, I'm forming the choir that you put your name down for. Firstly, thanks!

I'm a musician, actor and singer, and over the 18 years I've been working in the profession, the most rewarding experiences by far have been working with different ensembles, creating music. Nothing quite beats it! I thought it was time Crystal Palace had a go launching its own choir.

It's early stages at the moment, but names on the list are growing steadily! A healthy 16 at last count.

Just wanted to let you know a little more of what I'm hoping for. Obviously numbers are important, so I'm going to keep advertising for a while yet. Please encourage anyone you know with a love of music to join. Especially men! The interest so far has mainly come from women. So plenty of sopranos and altos but tenors and basses in short supply! It is not essential to read 'dots' as I'll be teaching the music, and the joy of singing together is really all that matters. With Christmas upon us we probably won’t start rehearsing till the new year. I hope you’ll still be interested.

There will be no charge for joining the choir. A lot of established choirs in South London charge a fee per term, I don't want to do this. At the most we may have to put a pound in the pot per week to cover the rental of a local hall. I'm trying to find a venue where we can rehearse for free, being a community venture, but this may be impossible.